QPRN vision

The vision of the QPRN is to be a leader in representing a wide range of research stakeholders in the search to understand the cellular and molecular basis of pain, to improve our assessment and treatment (pharmacological and non-pharmacological) of pain, to improve prevention efforts, as well as to ensure efficient and effective knowledge translation to adopt best practices in the multiple sectors of our healthcare system.

research network

We aim at achieving our goals through cohesive efforts between a group of 90 researchers associated to the four University Health Networks (Réseaux universitaires intégrés de santé; RUIS) of the province of Quebec: Université Laval, McGill University, Université de Montréal and Université de Sherbrooke, and to the Université du Québec network, Concordia University, Bishop University and TELUQ.
The network also benefits from collaborations with partners of choice as well as clinical experts.

Funding of the QPRN

The Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé (FRQS) allow to :

  • Financially support the Pain Network
  • Stimulate cutting edge research on chronic pain
  • Perfect the public and health care professional’s education on chronic pain
  • Improve our background knowledge on persistent pain
  • Contribute to enhancing physicians judgement for diagnosing and treating persistent pain


QPRN Management committee

Preclinical affairs
Louis Gendron, PhD
Université de Sherbrooke
Clinical Affairs
Anaïs Lacasse, PhD
Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue
Executive director
Hélène Beaudry, PhD
Scientific coordinator
Erwan Leclair, PhD

QPRN direction committee

The Management Committee of the network is composed of :

Management Committee
• A representative of the Quebec Chronic Pain Association (AQDC)

Vincent Raymond

• A representative of the Quebec Network of Junior Pain Investigators (QNJPI)

Marie-Pierre Cyr
Don Daniel Ocay

• A representative from each university

Philippe Sarret (Université de Sherbrooke)
Pierre Rainville (Université de Montréal)
Gilles Lavigne (CR-CHUM)
Yves de Koninck (Université Laval)
Reza Sharif Naeini (McGill University)

QPRN scientific committee

The Scientific Committee of the network is composed of :

• The Management Committee
• The directors of the Strategic Initiatives

Strategic initiative 1 : Reza Sharif (McGill University)
Strategic initiative 2 : Mélanie Bérubé (Université Laval)
Strategic initiative 3 : Jean-Sébastien Roy (Université Laval) / Hugo Mas-Alarie (Université Laval) / Carol Meloto (McGill University)
Strategic initiative 4 : Anne Marie Pinard (Université Laval)
Strategic initiative 5 : Gabrielle Pagé (Université de Montréal) et Marc Martel (McGill University)

• The directors of the Technical Platforms

Technical platform 1 : Yves de Koninck (Université Laval)
Technical platform 2 : Jeffrey Mogil (McGill University)
Technical platform 3 : Pierre Rainville (Université de Montréal)
Technical platform 4 : Luda Diatchenko (McGill University)
Technical platform 5 : Manon Choinière (Université de Montréal)