Return to articles

Canadian pain task force

Associate members:

Health Canada has established the Canadian Pain Task Force. The Task Force will provide advice to Health Canada regarding evidence and best practices for the prevention and management of chronic pain.

The Government of Canada recognizes the impacts and challenges faced by Canadians who live with chronic pain, that is why Health Canada has established the Canadian Pain Task Force. This group includes a broad range of knowledge, experience, expertise, and perspectives on the issue of chronic pain: Fiona Campbell (co-chair), Maria Hudspith (co-chair), Melissa Anderson, Manon Choinière, Hani El-Gabalawy, Jacques Laliberté, Michael Sangster, Jaris Swidrovich, Linda Wilhelm

The Task Force has a three-year mandate to:

• Assess how chronic pain is currently addressed in Canada;
• Conduct national consultations and review available evidence to identify best and leading practices, potential areas for improvement, and elements of an improved approach to the prevention and management of chronic pain in Canada;
• (Updated January 2021) Provide recommendations on priority actions to ensure people with pain are recognized and supported and that pain is understood, prevented, and effectively treated across Canada

The Task Force will deliver three reports to Health Canada, one for each of the three elements of their mandate. You can find the reports below:
Report 1 (June 2019)
Report 2 (October 2020)
Report 3 (Coming soon, March 2020)

The task force, représented by Manon Choinière, Gilles Lavigne et Jacques Laliberté will present their progress on January 25th at 6 p.m. in a joint conference of the Quebec Association of Chronic Pain and the Quebec Pain Research Network. To attend, please register here.